• imageAccounting & Tax Services
  • imageAgriculture
  • Art & Craft
  • Art & Graphics
  • imageArts & Entertainment
  • Arts and Craft
  • imageAuto Sales & Service
  • imageAutomotive
  • Banking & Finance
  • imageBeauty & Spa
  • Business Services
  • imageCake & Pastry
  • imageCargo, Freight & Shipping
  • imageClothing
  • imageComputers & Telecommunications
  • imageConstruction & Building Services
  • imageDentists & Orthodontists
  • imageDiplomats
  • imageEducation
  • Electronics ]
  • imageEnergy · Petroleum Service
  • Fibreglass Manufacture & Services
  • Floral & landscape
  • imageFood & Catering
  • imageFurniture & Household
  • Government
  • imageHealth & Medical
  • Health Care
  • imageHomestay & Resorts
  • imageHospitality
  • imageInformation Technology
  • Internet & Web Services
  • imageLegal Services
  • imageLodging & Travel
  • Marketing & Advertising
  • imageNews & Media
  • NGO
  • Pharmacy
  • Printing & Stationaries
  • Public Utilities & Environment
  • imageReal Estate
  • imageRestaurant & Nightlife
  • imageServices
  • imageShopping & Retail
  • Sports & Recreation
  • imageTransportation
  • Wedding, Events & Meetings

Prior to 1984, most of the training needs of Solomon Islands were done by various training institutions established by the government and administered by responsible ministries. Some of these training schools existed before Solomon Islands gained its independent in 1978.In 1984, an Act of Parliament called “Solomon Islands College of Higher Education (SICHE) Act was passed. This Act basically pooled all the existing schools then namely, Solomon Islands Teachers College, Public Administration Training School, Ranadi Marine Training School, Honiara Nursing Training school, and Honiara Technical Institute that were under the government to form SICHE. These schools formed the basis for the establishment of the schools under SICHE: School of Education, School of Finance & Administration, School of Marine & Fisheries Studies, School Nursing and Health Studies, School of Industrial Development and School of Natural Resources.In 2008, the need to diversify the training scope was realized by the government which gave rise to the need to amend the SICHE Act to include the School of tourism and Hospitality and any other schools the College sees fit. This amendment had made way for the establishment of the School of Humanities, Science & Media.In late 2012, the Government passed a new Act in Parliament called the “Solomon Islands National University (SINU) Act.” As a result of the Act, SICHE was upgraded to Solomon Islands National University in January 2013.Solomon Islands National University has five Schools with academic departments and three institutes with departments. All schools and institutes offer courses of study from certificate to undergraduate studies. Currently, there are undergraduate studies in Business, Nursing and Education. There will be other undergraduate courses that will be offered soon in the areas of Agriculture and Fisheries.All Schools and Institutes are located in four different campuses: Kukum, Panatina, Ranadi and Poitete. The Kukum Campus is the University’s main campus and is located in the Capital of Solomon Islands, Honiara. It accommodates 4 schools and 2 institutes: the School of Business and Management, School of Natural Resources and Applied Science, School of Nursing and Allied Health Sciences, School of Technology, Maritime and Fisheries Studies, Institute of Tourism & Hospitality and the Institute of Technology. On this main campus, the office of the Vice-Chancellor and all the supporting department offices are also accommodated.Panatina Campus is also located in the capital and it accommodates the School of Education and Humanities and the Distance Flexible Learning Centre. The smallest of the three (3) SINU Honiara-based campuses is the Ranadi campus and it accommodates the institute of Maritime and Fisheries Studies.Poitete campus, SINU’s 4th campus is located on the beautiful Island of Kolombangara in the Western Solomons and it accommodates the Department of Forestry of the School of Natural Resources and Applied Sciences.SINU also has three specialised Institutes: the institute of Tourism and Hospitality which is currently under the school of Business and Management, the Institute of Technology and the Institute of Maritime and Fisheries Studies which are currently under the School of Technology, Maritime and Fisheries Studies.While all the schools and institutes may be very different in terms of their areas of academic disciplines, they are all equally committed to connecting teaching and research and ensuring that their graduates are work ready

Rate us and Write a Review

Your Rating for this listing


Your review is recommended to be at least 140 characters long


Show all timings
  • Monday09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Tuesday09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Wednesday09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Thursday09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Friday09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
building Own or work here? Claim Now! Claim Now!

imageYour request has been submitted successfully.